With the inauguration of the ninth National Assembly closely in view, six lawmakers at the Imo state House of Assembly on Monday, June 10, defected to the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP).

The defectors made known their in a letter they addressed to the speaker of the Assembly and read by the clerk of the House during plenary, Daily Nigerian reports.
Before their defection on Monday, June 10, five of the lawmakers were members of the Action Alliance (AA) while the sixth person was a member of the All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA).
The AA lawmakers who defected to the PDP were Mike Iheanaetu (Aboh Mbaise), Victor Onyewuchi (Owerri West), Ken Agbim (Ahiazu Mbaise) Lloyd Chukwuemeka (Owerri North) and Bruno Ukoha (Ezinihittte Mbaise).
Chiji Collins (Isiala Mbano) defected from APGA to PDP. Reports have it that Collins defected to the PDP in a bid to secure his emergence as the next speaker of the Assembly.