FG names railway stations after Tinubu, Saraki, Soyinka, others

President Muhammadu Buhari has named railway stations along the Lagos-Ibadan and Itakpe-Ajaokuta-Warri corridors after some prominent Nigerians.
Those who received the honour, according to the Minister of Transportation Rotimi Amaechi, are “deserving citizens who contributed to the progress and development of their respective communities and the nation at large.”
This was contained in a statement by the Ministry of Transportation on Monday titled ‘Buhari names Railway stations after prominent Nigerians’.
According to the statement by the Ministry’s Director, Press and Public Relations, Eric Ojiekwe, the Minister stated the Apapa Station has been named after National Leader of the All Progressives Congress (APC) Asiwaju Bola Tinubu; the Abeokuta Station named after Nobel Laureate, Prof Wole Soyinka while the Ajaokuta Station was conferred on Olusola Saraki, the late father of former Senate President, Bukola Saraki.
Also honoured were: Mobolaji Johnson (Ebute Metta Station); Babatunde Fashola (Agege Station); Lateef Jakande (Agbado Station); Yemi Osinbajo (Kajola Station); Funmilayo Ransome-Kuti (Papalanto Station); Segun Osoba (Olodo Station) and Micheal Ibru (Opara Station).
Others include: Ladoka Akintola (Omio-Adio Station); Obafemi Awolowo (Ibadan Station); Alex Ekwueme (Operation Control Centre); Adamu Attah (Itakpe Station); Augustus Aikhomu (Itogbo Station); George Innih (Agenebode Station); Anthony Enahoro (Uromi Station); Tom Ikimi (Ekehen Station); Samuel Ogbemudia (Igbanke Station); David Ejoor (Abraka Station); Alfred Rewane (Ujevwu Station) and Mike Akhigbe (Railway Village, Agbor).
The Nation had reported Buhari approved the name of the railway station in Agbor, Delta State, be called Goodluck Jonathan Railway Station and Complex.


Popular posts from this blog

Deputy Speakership: Opposition lawmakers Reject Gov. Abiodun Zoning

Ogun students disown APC Senatorial District candidate, says he is misfit

OGHA Victory: Owodunni Remains Duly Recognized Winner of Ikenne State Constituency, Media Team