Group Backs Women In Elective Position At All Levels

A group, 100 women lobby group has again called for genuine backing for women in elective position at all levels, instead of appointment positions, noting that only 13 percent are currently in elective position in the country.

The group hinted that women participation in politics will enable them hold political offices in their various states.

This assertion was made by the Ogun State coordinator of 100 women lobby group, Prof. Olubunmi Ashimolowo, in Abeokuta the state capital while on advocacy tour in the state.

She explained that 100 Women Lobby Group is a network of 100 women-led, not for profit, grassroots based organizations that has been in existence for more than 25 years."

According to her "The network, which comprises of organisations and individuals is working to improve the participation and role of women in politics and governance and geared towards achieving the 35% Affirmative Action at all levels and beyond."

While talking about the vision of the group, Ashimolowo disclosed that 100 Women Lobby Group envisages a Society where equity, Equal opportunity for all, Gender justice, Access to health, Quality Education and Good Governance reign."

"100 Women Lobby Group encourages participatory resolution to solve Socio-Political and Economic Challenges for a better society."

She maintained that the group assist to create and increase awareness for women including political aspirants on their constitutional rights and strategies for winning elections; engaging in advocacy, lobbying and participating in decision making to increase significantly the number of women in elective positions over appointive positions.

She therefore said during the last program that was coordinated by Barrister Olajumoke Fadairo, Vice Coordinator, Dr. Oni appreciated them for the active roles they play and the success after.

Executive Officers for the South West 100 Women Lobby Group were chosen: Barrister Olajumoke Fadairo-Coordinator,Dr.Oni-the 1st Vice Coordinator, Secretary-Mrs Abubakar, Treasurer-Mrs Morenikeji Yussuf,P.R.O.-Miss Bukonla Sanusi, Welfare Miss Abike Oderinde,Chief Whip-  Miss Abidemi Olajide.


Popular posts from this blog

Deputy Speakership: Opposition lawmakers Reject Gov. Abiodun Zoning

BBNAIJA: I still want to be around you, Erica tells Laycon

OGHA Victory: Owodunni Remains Duly Recognized Winner of Ikenne State Constituency, Media Team