Villareal won the Europa League title on Wednesday after outscoring Manchester United in a twenty-two penalty shoot-out thriller.

The Unai Emery boys’ victory at the Gdansk in Poland is their first-ever major European title for the Yellow Submarines.

They beat Man United 11-10 (12-11) after David de Gea missed his spot kick.

Having featured against Man United at the 2020/21 Europa League final for the first time in their history, they became the 11th Spanish side to have done so.

Villarreal led through Moreno’s 30th goal of the season — an improvised finish after he escaped Victor Lindelof at a free kick.

Villarreal’s defence stood tall like a wall of Gibraltar to contain the Red Devils onslaught through out the first half.

Marcus Rashford volleyed an effort on goal from 22 yards out, and it took a few deflections before dropping to Edison Cavani from eight yards out. He fired it home for Man United’s equaliser.

The match went into extra time after it ended 1-1 at regular time.

The first 15 minutes of extra-time was a non-event for United, who looked tired and a tad timid.

The Spanish side were the better team wth a couple of half chances.

With no goal from either side in the second half of extra time, the game went into penalty shootout to decide the winner.

With the win, Emery becomes the first manager to have won a record four Europa League title.

Also, for Samuel Chukwueze, the Europa League title win with Villarreal is a record event.

Though the Super Eagles winger did not feature due to injury sustained in the semi final against Arsenal, he is now the sixth Nigerian to win the Europa League title.