Buhari finally constitutes EFCC board — first since 2015

 The anti-graft agency has been without a board since 2015 when Buhari came into power.

In a statement on Monday, Umar Gwandu, spokesperson of Abubakar Malami, attorney-general of the federation (AGF), said the board will operate on a five-year tenure.

He added that the president has ordered that the names of nominees on the board be forwarded to the national assembly for confirmation.

President Buhari has appointed George Abang Ekpungu as the Secretary of the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission (EFCC), for a tenure of five years,” Gwandu said.

“The appointment is for a fresh tenure of five years.

“Also appointed as board members of the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission are Luqman Muhammad (South South), Anumba Adaeze (South East), Alhaji Kola Raheem Adesina (North Central) and Alhaji Yahya Muhammad (North East).

These appointments are in line with Section 2 (1) and Section 4 of the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission Act, 2004.

“The President has directed the forwarding of the names to the Senate for confirmation.”


Popular posts from this blog

Deputy Speakership: Opposition lawmakers Reject Gov. Abiodun Zoning

Just In: Ijebu East Councilors Suspend Wale Adedayo As Chairman

Ogun students disown APC Senatorial District candidate, says he is misfit