40th Anniversary: Ogun Poly Accountancy Department "1979-83 Set" Holds Reunion At Alma-Mata

It was a moment of reunion and homecoming as members of alumni association, Accountancy Department, between 1979 to 1983 set of Ogun Poly Abeokuta, reunite for the first time in decades at the school to celebrate themselves.

It would be recalled that MAPOLY was formerly known as Ogun Poly, Abeokuta and the institution commenced lectures in January, 1979.

The maiden edition of the alumni converge, also featured special recognition of the first Rector of the institution, Dr. Tunji Sonola and the first registrar Mrs Ojelade all in attendance. 
Dignitaries at the event are: Dr Tunji Sonola, former Rector 1979/84, Mrs Lola Ayegbayo,  former Registrar 1979/84, Justice Demola Bakre rtd Judge and law lecturer, Dr Kadiri, former Rector and Dr. Joseph Ogunwede, the current HOD, Accountancy Department. 

Addressing journalists, the association President, Bada, explained that the purpose of the convergence was to share memories, experiences and welfarism of their members, both home and abroad. 

He said "My academic journey led me to Ogun State Polytechnic, now known as MAPOLY, where I spent four transformative years from 1979 to 1983. It's been a remarkable 40-year journey since then."

"Back in those days, we were a close-knit of classmates. Over the years, life has taken its course, and some of our comrades have sadly departed while others remain unreachable."

"However, for those of us still standing, we've been blessed with a reunion, guided by the grace of God. Our network now spans colleagues residing both abroad and here in Nigeria, reuniting us with shared memories and experiences."

"In this journey, we understand that not everyone's path is the same. We've extended assistance and support to many, recognizing that unity is our strength."

"To my fellow members who stand beside me today, I emphasize that our need for each other has not diminished. Time marches on, and we are no longer the youths we once were. Let us cherish the moments of peace and togetherness for as long as we can."

On her part, the association secretary, Mrs Olusola Abike Apampa (Nee,) Ogunpola, hinted that the gesture was in commemoration of their 40th anniversary since they left the institution, adding that it was resolved among the planning committee to do something different by honoring their former lecturers who played a significant role in their education.

She added the event was also to support some brilliant and deserving current students in the Accountancy department to help them in their educational pursuit.

According to Mrs Apampa, "Today marks the 40th year since we left Ogun State Polytechnic Abeokuta, a time when it was known as such. This is a special reunion, a chance for us to come together, reconnect, and celebrate."

"First and foremost, I want to express my gratitude to our former Governor, His Excellency Senator Ibukunle Amosun. He was a wonderful colleague, classmate, and friend. Together, we decided to honor our former lecturers who played a significant role in our education. Additionally, we have chosen to support some brilliant and deserving current students in the Accountancy department to help them in their educational pursuit." She concluded. 

Awards were given to former Governor, Sen. Ibikunle Amosun, and other recipients for their significant role in the society.

In attendance are, Alh Suraju Adebisi Bada, Mrs Olusola Abike Apampa (Ogunpola),Gbolahan Akinbo, Bode Adefala
, Yinka Kolawola, Kayode Aina, Gboyega Bakre, Akinola Akinosi, Goke Dipe and Billiamin Adedoyin.

Others at the event included, Gbolahan Agoro, Seyi Efunsile, Emmanuel Odusanya, Taiwo Akintobi, Kolawole Sulaiman, Gbenga Otenuga and Soremekun James.

Some of the members who joined virtually are, HE Senator Ibikunle Amosun,  Ayo Danso,  Victor Badejo, Leke Odukoya, Leke Kuforiji,  Mrs Funmi Fagorala (nee Fagbohungbe), Ms Jumoke Ogundele, Mrs Yetunde Abodunrin(nee Awobowale), Patrick Adewale Mould(Menkiti), Tosin Oyeneye and M.A Sotan.

The occasion also witnessed one minute silence for the deceased members: Tade Adesanwo, Lanre Akinsanya, Mrs Yinka Ogunlusi(Akinsanya),  Bisi Sulaimon,  Akintomide, Sakiru Agboola and Mrs Abidemi Rukayat Olawunmi( nee Kazeem). 


Submit Comment

To Top