Over 110 Golfers across the country stormed Abeokuta for 2024 Captain Kola Adebayo Inaugural Golf Tournament

The Nigerian golfing community trooped to Abeokuta with the aim of promoting the game of golf and encouraging more people to love and play the game in honour of the new Captain of Abeokuta Golf Club, Professor Kolawole Adebayo. 

The tournament, which witnessed participation across the country in spite of the present economic situation and the hot weather conditions, was very well attended. Golfers converged at Abeokuta Golf Club, Oke - Mosan , Abeokuta, Ogun State, to celebrate the new Captain of the club.

Speaking at the tournament, closing ceremony , the club Captain , Professor Kola Adebayo, appreciated all the participants for gracing the occasion and assured them that his administration would continue to promote the game of golf as a platform of tourism and hospitality as well as use it to promote unity in the country.

Remarking, the immediate past Captain of the Club, Seriki Ladi Adegbite commended the determination of the Golfers for coming from all over the country to attend tournament in Abeokuta even in the face of the present socio- economic situations, urging them to always come around to the Club especially now that lots of development had taken place around the club. He added that he would always support the new Captain with all within his power.

The Chairman, Planing Committee, a former Captain of the club, Mr. Kola Adeneye, appreciated the tremendous sponsorship support and contributions from members within and outside the club for making the event a reality, assuring that the memories of the tournament would forever live in the minds of the participants.

Speaking at the closing ceremony, the former Lady Captain Tiger golf club, Hon. Folashade Ajala commended the organizers of the tournament and congratulated the new executive of the club led by Prof. Kola Adebayo, affirming that the tournament was one of the best in recent times. She called on sports philanthropists in Nigeria to rally round and support the development of golf in the country.

The high point of the event was the announcement of the tournament results by the Competition Secretary, Mr. Segun Eleyowo. Prizes were given to different categories of golfers who participated in the competition.

The prize for Longest Drive Ladies category was won by Dorcas Oluwatunmise from Ibadan Golf Club and that of the Men's category was won by Dimeji Sorunke from Abeokuta Golf Club.

The prize for the Nearest to the Pin, Ladies category was won by Ruth Luwoye from Abeokuta Golf Club, while that of the Men was won by Ben Onwe of Ikoyi and Abeokuta Golf Clubs.

In the handicap 36 plus ladies Category, Mrs.
T. Mendes from Abeokuta Golf Club was the winner, while Mr. Gbolahan Sofipo won the Handicap 29 plus categories 
The Veterans categories winner is Dr. Lemoboye Okuboye.

In the Gross players category, Mr. Owolabi Olajide playing zero Handicap won with a score of 74 gross.

Mrs. A. Oluwadare of Crosscreeks Golf Club, Akure won in the Guest Ladies category with a score of 72 net, while Mr. K. Saula won the the Guest Men category with a score of 68 net.

Abeokuta Golf Club Ladies Category Winner was Ruth Luwoye with a score of 78 net .

The Abeokuta Golf Club Men's Category was won by Mr. Seye Ijaola who played Handicap 3 and returned a score of 71 net winning on count back.

Dolapo Jinad
Publicity/Social Secretary Abeokuta Golf Club.

Post a Comment

Submit Comment

To Top